Summer 2011: Day 1

This morning I tried to wake up as early as possible to get my run in before it turned brutally hot. Naturally, I lolly-gagged around for a couple hours and didn’t make it out to the trail until 10:30. I was just about dying out there, drenched in sweat with a rabbit heart beat. It’s crazy how much the heat and humidity can affect your stamina!

I managed to get in 6 miles, but there were a couple of breaks in between. I cooled off at the apartment with a protein shake made with 1 cup almond milk, 1 banana, and 1 scoop vanilla protein powder.

Last night I stopped at Barnes & Noble and spent an hour or so perusing through magazines and cookbooks. I came home with two magazines (Whole Living and Living. Martha Stewart is my savior) and,

dun dun dun…

Tina’s newly released book Carrots ‘n’ Cake, based off of her famous healthy living blog which inspired me to start one of my own.

IMG_0110

IMG_0111

I’m about to go spend my first day of summer lounging by the pool, workin’ on my bronze. This time with sunscreen!

I plan on zipping through a fair amount of Carrots ‘N’ Cake. I’ve already read through the introduction and first chapter. I’m just so entertained by Tina’s sense of humor and how down to Earth she comes across. I encourage everyone to go pick up a copy of their own!

2 Comments

Filed under Fitness

2 responses to “Summer 2011: Day 1

  1. Pingback: Carrots ‘N’ Cake Book Reviews

  2. Pingback: Carrots ‘N’ Cake Book Reviews

Leave a Reply

