short trip to Charleston

On the Friday following my 21st birthday night out, my family and I hit the road to pay Charleston a short visit. It was pouring out when we arrived, so we scurried ourselves over to a restaurant that I had scoped out called Cru Café. This restaurant is a bit off the beat-and-path of Market Street, but people sure do know about it. The restaurant is part of a small, converted house and has only a few tables outside on the porch in addition to 10 or so tables inside. The place was packed and we had a 45 minute wait- and this was at 2 in the afternoon, an odd time to be eating lunch.

image

The food was well worth the wait. I ordered a smoked turkey sandwich with melted brie and apple chutney. The brie was rich and sweet, and the chutney spicy and tangy. The prices were incredibly reasonable as well. I will definitely be returning here on future visits to Charleston for a casual yet sumptuous meal.

21st 51

When we finished eating, it was storming like CRAZY out and because we’re so prepared all the time-not- we didn’t have an umbrella with us. We waited out the storm on Cru’s front porch and then made our way over to Market Street. Which was completely flooded.

21st 53

Since browsing through the vendors of the City Market was clearly out of the question we walked over to King Street and did some shopping. I got a few things from Forever 21 and Urban Outfitters. We also stopped in a new shop on King Street, Savannah Bee Company, which had samples of a bunch of different kinds of honeys as well as some soaps and lotions made from their honey. I tried honeycomb for the first time which was delicious! They served it on a slice of apple topped with cheese. What a great appetizer/ dessert idea for entertaining.

21st 55 21st 54

We had dinner at the Noisy Oyster, a seafood restaurant with walls that are open to the outside. I had grilled mahi-mahi with mango sauce… and a mojito Smile The mojito was extremely refreshing. My meal was alright but nothing spectacular… I think the mango salsa that I make is much better.

After waking up on Saturday morning, we drove out to Isle of Palms and took a long walk on the beach.

21st 58 21st 59 21st 61 21st 63 21st 62

We headed over to the Saturday Farmer’s Market, one of Charleston’s finest establishments in my opinion. In addition to plenty of food stands and produce vendors, there are art and craft vendors of all sorts. I sampled flavored goat cheeses at one vendor and couldn’t leave without bringing one home. I got a tomato basil goat cheese and I can’t wait to use it on sandwiches/ wraps.

21st 66  21st 67 21st 70 

My Dad picked up organic dog treats for our neighbor who is watching our horses while they are gone. She has a beautiful golden lab name Moses who is basically Marley from the movie Marley & Me.

21st 72 21st 73

Before heading back to Columbia, we stopped at Paolo’s Gelato and I enjoyed a delicious “lunch” of a combo of pistachio, hazelnut, and tiramisu gelato. This stuff is seriously dangerous.

21st 78 21st 76 21st 77

Never an unpleasant experience in this charming little city, and I always look forward to going back…

Leave a comment

Filed under Food, Restaurants, Travel

Leave a Reply

