Black Bean Pizza

105_2328_picnik

I turned in my last paper of the semester, presented my last group project, and took my last Marketing test today and I am now freeeee!! (at least for a couple weeks before my Business Writing final).

I went for a 5 mile run outside today then walked for 45 minutes. Other than the half marathon this past weekend, that was the first time I’d been able to run outside in over 2 weeks. It got up to 90 degrees today, and it was already around 70 when I went running at 9:30 a.m.

Tonight’s dinner was a Mexican-inspired black bean pizza. If the “eat a rainbow a day” theory is correct, then this pizza is the meal of perfection.

Makes 4-6 servings

Ingredients:

    • 1 lb whole wheat pizza dough (I used Trader Joe’s)
    • 1 recipe black bean spread (see below)
    • 1/4 cup Mexican cheese blend
    • 1 small tomato, cut into slices
    • 1/4 cup roasted bell peppers, sliced
    • 1/4 cup avocado slices
    • a few slices of red onion
    • 2 Tbsp fresh chopped cilantro

For the black bean spread:

    • 1/2 can black beans, mashed
    • 2 Tbsp chopped red onion
    • Dash of ground cumin

Step 1 Preheat oven to 425 degrees. Meanwhile, roll out pizza dough into a 12 diameter circle.

Step 2 Prepare black bean spread by mixing together all ingredients. Once oven is preheated, cook pizza dough for 8 minutes.

Step 3 Top cooked dough with black bean spread, then add all remaining ingredients except for the cilantro.

Step 4 Put pizza back in oven for about 4 minutes, or until cheese melts. Top with cilantro.

I also added a little bit of sour cream to my pizza when it came out. Delicious!

2 Comments

Filed under Food, Recipes

2 responses to “Black Bean Pizza

  1. This looks deee-lish. Now I need to get an avocado off the side of the road tomorrow and I can use another can of the HUGE set of black beans we bought at Sam’s Club almost a year ago (no joke, best investment ever)! Thanks for posting!

  2. cmahannah

    Ummmmm this looks so yummy!

Leave a Reply

