Healthy Eating on the Go

I am currently running around like a chicken with its head chopped off, trying to get everything together for this week in Augusta. I hate feeling like I’m forgetting things, and I always get that feeling when I go anywhere. I was planning on fitting in a workout this morning, but I woke up with my entire upper body feeling sore. Apparently yoga kicked my ass yesterday.

Being too busy to prepare meals sometimes poses a problem to people in regards to healthy eating. Some use “being too busy” as an excuse to eat out all the time or make unhealthy choices. You are never to busy to eat a healthy, nutritious meal.

Here are some tips for making healthy choices when busy or on-the-go.

Breakfast

Breakfast is usually the easiest meal to make quick and healthy. For this week, I made a big batch of muesli, which is essentially just oats soaked in milk overnight and then mixed with whatever else your heart desires. Today I soaked equal amounts of oats and soy milk and let sit for a few hours while running errands. Sometimes, I’ll add a little bit more milk to make it creamier. I added sliced strawberries, 1 chopped apple, walnuts, 1 Tbsp honey, and a little stevia sweetener. This recipe is great because it’s easy to make, stays fresh all week, and requires no additional preparation.

105_2157

Other snappy breakfast options are a Clif bar, Greek yogurt with fruit (such as blueberries or grapes, which don’t need to be cut up) and granola, or whole wheat toast with almond butter.

Lunch

Lunch is a little bit trickier than breakfast, but still offers plenty of options. This week, they will be giving us free lunch so I do not need to worry about preparing anything ahead of time. However, here are some recipes that can be prepared at the beginning of the week and stored in the fridge.

Tabouli Salad: you can also enjoy this over spinach with feta cheese

Chickpea Salad: also tastes great inside a pita

Make a hummus wrap by spreading 2 Tbsp hummus on a whole wheat tortilla and adding any vegetables you’d like. I prefer cucumber, tomatoes, sprouts, and feta cheese.

Dinner

Any lunch options serve as perfectly appropriate dinner ideas as well. I will be bringing a big container of leftover brown rice, tofu, black beans, corn, and salsa which I prepared for last night’s dinner. I also have a package of whole wheat tortillas in case I’m feeling some burrito action.

105_2162

Quick dinner ideas:

Frozen pizza- Kashi, Amy’s Organics

Frozen meals- Kashi brand, Amy’s Organics

I also am making sure to bring some snacks with me. I’ve got Trader’s Joe’s granola, apples, and the new Lay’s Kettle Cooked Jalapeno Chips (ahhh. definitely not the healthiest choice, but they aren’t terriblee and I’m in love!) I’ll also stick some Clif bars and KIND bars in my purse just in case.

105_2159

105_2160  105_2158

I’m just about all packed and ready to hit the road. I brought a couple pairs of workout clothes fully aware that they will not be used. I have to be up at 4:30 in the morning every day this week so blogging is probably not going to be happening. Wish me luck and see you next week!

Leave a comment

Filed under Food

Leave a Reply

