is it Cinco de Mayo yet?

I feel like I have been eating a lot of Mexican-inspired meals lately… Perhaps in anticipation of one of my favorite holidays, Cinco de Mayo? I still have a while to go.

I had my typical oatmeal breakfast of oats, almond milk, bananas, almonds, and cinnamon this morning after driving my friend to the airport. I told myself I was going to just stay up and work out after getting home, buut that didn’t happen. I went back to sleep for 3 more hours. All this rain is making me sleepy!

Anyways, I decided to run on the treadmill today since it was gross out. I read in a recent article that you should put the treadmill on an incline of 1% since the treadmill doesn’t give you as effective of a workout as running outside. For some reason I was really struggling today. I couldn’t go as fast as I usually do and I got tired really fast. After 6.5 miles I took a 5 minute water/ walking break, then finished up my last 1.5 miles at a slower pace. I ended up running 8 miles in 73 min 17 sec (excluding my walking intermission).

I chased my run down with a protein shake of almond milk, vanilla whey protein powder, half a banana, and 1/3 cup frozen blueberries.

105_2017

I also made a weird concoction of Trader Joe’s guacamole hummus (what a great idea!), salsa, fat free cheddar cheese, and crumbled tortilla chips.

105_2018  105_2020

To keep my spicy trend continuing into the night, I attended a student organization’s “Free Qdoba” night… because I’m a college student and I do not ever pass up free meals. I had a cup of Mexican gumbo and two tacos filled with black beans, guacamole, corn salsa, pico de gallo, and cheese.

105_2021

Now I’ve got a full night ahead of me of Bridget Jone’s Diary on the Lifetime Network, then Bethenny Ever After. Oh, and homework too :/

Goodnight everybody Smile

Leave a comment

Filed under Fitness, Food

Leave a Reply

