A peek into my room

My bedroom is a reflection of my personal style, as everyone’s room should be. It serves as my personal little retreat when I just need some “me” time. Here are some tips on how to turn your room into an abode of serenity.

My Room

Pick a color scheme, then add an accent color: Because my room is a deep purple, dark green is the contrast color that I focused on. I have a dark green vase with fake pink gerber daisies sitting on my dresser. And don’t fear the fake! Plastic flowers are a great way to add color and liveliness to a room.

105_1916105_1917105_1918

Get personal: Rip out pictures and/or quotes from magazines that inspire you and hang them on your wall with decorative thumbtacks. The Olsen twins are some of my biggest fashion icons, and I loved this picture of Mary Kate that I found in a magazine- as well as the accompanying quote.

105_1921

105_1923

My Marilyn Monroe calendar (love her).

105_1936

Save pretty containers from things that you bought, and use them for storing small knick-knacks.

A candle that I bought came in a really cute patterned box, so I kept it and started keeping my nail polish in it.

Have your things appear to be more organized by placing them on trays, rather than scattered across your dresser or counter.

105_1926

Make use of wall space as much as possible.

105_1927105_1930

Scarves, scarves, and more scarves (and belts). I also use wall hangers to display my necklaces.

PICTURES!

Pictures are the number one way to make your bedroom all about you. I smile every time I look up from my desk and see goofy pictures of my friends and I.

I stuck two plain cork boards on my wall then pinned pictures on them… A really cheap way to add flair and personalization.

105_1933

Leave a comment

Filed under Decorating, Home

Leave a Reply

