Chickpeas & Charlotte

Today was one of Columbia’s most spectacular days of the year, St. Patty’s in Five Points, and I had to miss it šŸ˜¦ Hopefully it was worth it though… I drove up to Charlotte, NC to interview for a summer internship. Charlotte is one of my favorite cities so I’m really crossing my fingers for this internship! I started my day off with another bowl of sweet potato oatmeal, then did a quick 30 minute session on the elliptical.

For lunch I made one of my favorite new recipes, chickpea salad. I adapted this recipe from one that I found by Real Simple.

Chickpea Salad

Makes 6 servings

2 (15 oz) cans garbanzo beans

1 (16 oz) jar roasted red peppers, chopped

1/2 cup raisins

1/2 cup fresh chopped parsley

2-3 tbsp olive oil

Add all ingredients in a large bowl and let sit for at least 30 minutes so that all of the flavors can blend together.

I sliced a pita in half to make 2 pita pockets, spread a little bit of hummus in each one, added the chickpea salad, and then topped it with just 1 tbsp or so of feta cheese.

After lunch, I headed up to Charlotte for my interview, which I think went pretty well, but I won’t hear back for another couple of weeks. Before driving back to Columbia, I stopped at Trader Joe’s and bought an ass amount of food. I really wish we would get one in Columbia, I would be in heaven! When I finally arrived back to Columbia at 8:30 p.m. I was starving so I had half of a Publix frozen vegetable pizza (and 2 beers) for dinner. It’s been a long day and I am SO looking forward to sleeping in and relaxing tomorrow.

Leave a comment

Filed under Fitness, Food, Recipes

Leave a Reply

